MY DYING BRIDE LIVE!!

Venue:- The Islington Assemby Rooms, Upper Street, Islington, London, UK

Date:- 31/3/2016

All Photos:- ©ClaudiaBlack2016

 

My Dying Bride

My Dying Bride

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

”The Islington Assembly Rooms are very convenient! I live just a 10 minute walk away so if anything worth seeing is happening at this venue i can get there quickly and the bonus is if i get too drunk i can roll in my front gate hahaha! The building is built in the art deco style and has been in use since the 1930’s. The building is used for weddings, private functions, jumble sales, political events and of course bands. I like the venue, it’s pleasing to the eye, big but not cavernous and when filled there is a good atmosphere. What is also handy is the fact that there is a bus stop next to the venue that takes you to The Angel/King X/The West End and there are a few pubs opposite handy for a post gig drink or two. Or there is also The Hope & Anchor up the road if more live music is what you crave! Tonight my visit was to see metal Legends My Dying Bride who i was seeing for the first time. First up were 40 watt Sun who i never saw so this is all i can write about them, and Oceans Of Slumber, a Texas based female fronted band that sound like metal, like jazz, like hard rock, a fusion of differing ingredients that are performed with virtuoso skill! They can play i tell you, they can play!! I have listened to their music online and it is definitely worth delving into more deeply, unfortunately the sound in the venue did not do them justice in my opinion and the atmosphere was a bit flat from the crowd, it was lacking in enthusiasm, Polite applause was the order of the day, the crowd saving their energy and enthusiasm for the main attraction. And guess what? The sound quality for the main attraction improved considerably with the click of a finger! No longer thin but rich and booming, the sound filled the auditorium like musical treacle flowing and then covering all in its path! I was instantly hooked and drawn into the MDB experience. I love the mix of dark but clean vocals interspersed with the guttural unclean version. I particularly liked the track ”Erotic Literature”! I can’t remember how much i paid for the ticket but it was worth it!! I left the venue contented!!!”

 

My Dying Bride

My Dying Bride

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

My Dying Bride

My Dying Bride

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Oceans Of Slumber

Oceans Of Slumber

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Oceans Of Slumber

Oceans Of Slumber

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

My Dying Bride Setlist:-

1:- Your River

2:- From Darkest Skies

3:- And My Father Left For Ever

4:- My Body, a Funeral

5:- Feel The Misery

6:- The Raven Wings

7:- The Prize Of Beauty

8:- Erotic Literature

9:- To Shiver In Empty Halls

10:- The Cry Of Mankind

11:- She Is The Dark

12:- Like A Perpetual Funeral

 

<iframe src=”https://embed.spotify.com/?uri=spotify%3Auser%3Afr101621%

 

LINKS:-

https://www.facebook.com/My-Dying-Bride-Official-uk

http://www.mydyingbride.net

http://www.40wattsun.com

 

http://www.oceansofslumber.com

 

http://www.islington.gov.uk/assemblyhall/about-us/Pages/default.aspx

Leave a Reply

